Red-Green Colorblindness

Note to self: Avoid confusing students with red-green colorblindness.

I like to include maps in my PowerPoint presentations so that students know where all the European places are–because even if they know European geography well, we often use seemingly weird-sounding, ancient names for places that might throw students off.  I also like to use Google Earth to make these maps because you can hide the borders of modern nation-states and it looks a lot more like an ancient Greek or Roman might have imagined the landscape.  In my old maps, I marked cities with red dots, like this:

Ebro River Map.jpg

But with red dots over green lands, that could be confusing for people who can’t differentiate between red and green.  So, I am changing all my maps.  Following Google Earth’s default setting of white text on the blue/green/sandy maps, I’m using white dots now, like this:

Map of Wonders

 

 

One thought on “Red-Green Colorblindness

Leave a Reply

